Student Awards, spring 2007

July 18, 2007

Department of Architecture 

American Institute of Architects Awards went to Patricia Brizzio, AIA Medal and Certificate; and Jason Teck Chye Lim, AIA Certificate.  

Alpha Rho Chi Medal, awarded to a graduating student who has shown ability for leadership, performed willing service for the school and shows promise of professional merit through his or her attitude and personality, went to Jonathan Moody, undergraduate; and Namita Dharia, graduate.  

Clifton Beckwith Brown Medal, awarded to the graduating student who has attained the highest cumulative average in architectural design, went to Hyuck Jin Yoon.  

Kazuaki Terry Yoneda received the William Downing Prize, recognizing outstanding achievement in architectural design.  

Patricia Brizzio received a Merrill Presidential Scholarship.  

Brett Edward Desmarais received the Michael Rapuano Award, which recognizes excellence in design.  

Charles Goodwin Sands Memorial Medal: silver: Jennifer Chuong; bronze: Hugh Elliott Hayden, Jacqueline Stluka, Asami Takahashi.

Department of Art

Ana Sousa received the John Hartell Graduate Award.  

Kathleen Hawkes received the Faculty Medal of Art and Merrill Presidential Scholarships. 

Nora Hardwick Chase and Hannah Naomi Kim received the Department of Art Distinguished Achievement Award.  

The Charles Baskerville Painting Award went to Nora Hardwick Chase and Shea Hembrey.  

Elsie Dinsmore Popkin Painting Award went to Alexa Dawn Rose and Jillian Beth Salik.

Department of City and Regional Planning

The Thomas W. Mackesey Prize, awarded in memory of the former dean of the College of Architecture, Art, and Planning, was given to Shigeru Tanaka.  

The American Institute of Certified Planners Outstanding Student Award went to Ann Fisher Dillemuth.  

The Peter B. Andrews Memorial Thesis Prize went to Lesli Hoey for the best thesis prepared for the degree of Master of Regional Planning.  

Emily Alice Goldman received the John W. Reps Award for a graduate student in Historic Preservation Planning who has demonstrated superior academic excellence.  

Department of City and Regional Planning Graduate Student Community Service Award, given to socially conscious and active students who, through exemplary community service within and outside of the university, significantly contributed to the department, went to Diedra Schenelle Whittenburg.  

Urban and Regional Studies Academic Achievement Award, given to the undergraduate students for outstanding academic achievement in the URS program, went to Todd Thomas Henry and Daniele Petrone.  

Kermit C. Parsons and Janice I. Parsons Scholarship went to Emma Catherine Hamme, Mark Vorreuter and Andrew Rumbach for their promising work in the department.  

Robert P. Liversidge III Memorial Book Award recipient was Daniel Pearlstein.

Close overlay