Michael Ashkin receives MacDowell Colony Fellowship

April 22, 2011

Assistant professor of art Michael Ashkin has been awarded a 2011 MacDowell Colony Fellowship. He will be in residence at the New Hampshire-based colony in June. The MacDowell Colony, founded in 1907, is the oldest artists' colony in the United States. Their mission is to nurture the arts by offering creative individuals of the highest talent an inspiring environment in which to produce enduring works of the imagination. More than 6,000 writers, poets, playwrights, artists, and composers have attended including Leonard Bernstein, Willa Cather, Milton Avery, Nancy Holt, Aaron Copland, James Baldwin, and more recently Alice Walker, Sharon Lockhart, Jonathan Franzen, and Amy Sillman. The MacDowell Colony was honored with the National Medal of Arts the highest award given by the U.S. to artists or arts patrons for nurturing and inspiring many of this century's finest artists and offering them the opportunity to work within a dynamic community of their peers, where creative excellence is the standard.

Close overlay