Eidlitz Fellowship recipients announced

May 29, 2012

The Eidlitz selection committee has announced the recipients of the 2012–13 Robert James Eidlitz Travel Fellowship. Of the 32 proposals submitted by architecture students and alumni, five projects were chosen to receive funding:

The following projects will receive travel funding:

  • Melissa Constantine (M.Arch. '12): Immaterial Labor in the Material City
  • William J. Erhard (B.Arch. '10) and Edith Smith-Williams (B.Arch. '12): Deciphering Vertov's Utopia: Explorations of the former Soviet Metropolis
  • Nathan C. Friedman (B.Arch. '09): Mexican/American Borderlands
  • Huafan Gary He (B.Arch. '09): Floating Gardens — Tracing the Water Cities of Southern China, a diary of urban form
  • Ian Janicki (B.Arch. '12) and Daniel Marino (B.Arch. '12): Re-Visiting the Machine

The annual competition is open to fifth-year seniors and graduate students in history of architecture and urbanism, architecture, and landscape architecture, as well as alumni of these programs who graduated within the last five years. Proposals may be submitted by individuals or teams and are accepted each spring.

Sadie Boulton Eidlitz established the fellowship in 1938 as a memorial to her late husband. Both Robert and Sadie are Cornell alumni, graduating in 1885 and 1884, respectively. Sadie Eidlitz designed the fellowship to supplement professional education through travel-based study.

Close overlay