Atkinson Center Recognizes CRP Faculty

June 22, 2016

Cornell's David R. Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future (ACSF) named CRP faculty members Neema Kudva and Mildred Warner to an interdisciplinary group of faculty-in-residence fellows this fall. The fellows receive a semester of teaching leave and research funding to pursue projects related to sustainability, including exploratory research, artistic work, public engagement, books and articles, and course development.

In addition to the fellowship appointments, ACSF Faculty Fellow and Professor of City and Regional Planning Kieran Donaghy will join the ACSF as faculty director of economic development on July 1. Donaghy also serves as the CRP department chair and the director of graduate studies in regional science. His research is focused on sustainable economic development from the perspectives of a regional scientist and a humanitarian.

ACSF was founded in 2010 by an endowment from David and Pat Atkinson that was at the time the largest donation in U.S. academic history in the sustainability area. The center's mission is to "discover and implement sustainable solutions to world needs for reliable energy, a resilient environment, and responsible economic development," and to connect researchers to external partners such as CARE, the Environmental Defense Fund, Oxfam, and the Nature Conservancy. Its major grant programs and activities spark interdisciplinary collaborations across Cornell.

Close overlay