AAP Students Named Rawlings Cornell Presidential Research Scholars

September 11, 2015

Three students from art and CRP are among the 23 rising juniors who were named Hunter R. Rawlings III Cornell Presidential Research Scholars (RCPRS) starting in the fall of 2015.

Laureen Andalib (B.F.A./B.S. URS '18), Hanna Reichel (B.S. URS '17), and Ivy Wong (B.S./B.S. URS '17) will all receive funding and faculty support to pursue individual research projects for the duration of their undergraduate tenure at Cornell.

Each year, the RCPRS program supports a select group of undergraduate students by providing funding and promoting sustained engagement in research across all colleges. Scholars collaborate with faculty mentors of their choosing in designing and carrying out an individualized research project.

Andalib's project is an interdisciplinary investigation of the theories of language through time; research by Reichel will apply an urban planner's perspective to understanding the intrinsic relationship between food systems and the built environment; and Wong aims to evaluate current methods and approaches towards eco cities, and their implications for long-term development, design, economies, energy, and the social landscape.

RCPRS participants are selected either before their first year at Cornell, or as rising juniors. The program provides each scholar with a research support account — $8,000 for scholars admitted as first-years, $5,000 for those admitted as juniors — and an annual need-based loan replacement of up to $4,000.

In addition, three first-year students were named RCPRS scholars. Lucas Bulger (B.S. URS '19), Nadezhda Chernova (B.S. URS '19), and Alice Rayner (B.S. URS '19) are among the incoming first-years who are selected for the RCPRS program during the Cornell admissions process.

Close overlay