AAP Students Named 2016–17 Rawlings Scholars

July 29, 2016

Each year, the Hunter R. Rawlings III Cornell Presidential Research Scholar (RCPRS) program selects a group of admitted first-year and rising juniors from across the university who demonstrate interest and promise in research-driven inquiry. Five AAP students are among the 22 rising juniors who have been named for the 2016–17 academic year.

Jeremy Bilotti (B.Arch. '18), Zhisheng (Ivy) Deng (B.A./B.F.A. '19), Ehab Ebeid (B.S. URS '18), Skye Hart (B.S. URS '18) and Laura-Bethia Campbell (B.F.A. '17), will all receive funding from the RCPRS program and faculty mentor support from both within and beyond AAP to pursue their research for the remainder of their undergraduate tenure at Cornell. Work supported by the RCPRS program varies widely and is largely determined by individual students, faculty mentors, and their shared research interests.

As a Rawlings Scholar, Bilotti will work with Department of Architecture faculty members Visiting Critic Leslie Lok, Assistant Professor Sasa Zivkovic, and Professor Henry Richardson to test 3D-printed models and "additive" construction methods for their ability to diminish the housing affordability gap that currently exists worldwide.

Deng's research is supported by Assistant Professor Lucinda Ramberg in the Department of Anthropology and Timothy Murray, professor of english and comparative literature. "I am particularly interested in how bodies remember and carry the memory of migration, and what political implications surface as I research this relationship," says Deng.

Nineteenth-century modernization in Cairo is the focus of Ebeid's research. He will study with faculty mentor Ziad Fahmy, associate professor of Near Eastern Studies. According to Ebeid, "Early conceptions of the modern city, their ideological underpinnings, and their translations across cultures and geographies are all central to the project."

Hart plans to research under-studied and underserved urban Native American communities in Seattle, with mentorship from CRP Assistant Professor Jennifer Minner and Kurt Jordan, professor of Anthropology and American Indian and Indigenous Studies.

Associate Professor Barry Perlus in the Department of Art will mentor Campbell, who plans to "grapple with both the physical and psychological notions of displacement," and address questions around site (or non-site) and place-making in art.

RCPRS participants are selected either before their first year at Cornell, or as rising juniors. RCPRS participants who are named as juniors receive a research support account in the amount of $5,000 and an annual need-based loan replacement of up to $4,000. Those who are admitted as they enter their first year receive $8,000 for research and up to $4,000 need-based loan replacement.

First-year 2016–17 recipients from AAP who were selected during the university admissions process are Aishwarya Sreenivas (B.Arch. '21), Kelechuckwu “Kelechi” Mpamaugo (B.F.A. '20), Aiden Walker (B.F.A. '20), Dhananjay Bansal (B.S. URS '20), and Pian Pawakapan (B.S. URS '20).

By Edith Fikes

Close overlay