2011–12 Eidlitz Fellowship Recipients Announced

May 23, 2011

The Eidlitz selection committee has announced the recipients of the 2011–12 Robert James Eidlitz Travel Fellowship. Of the proposals submitted by architecture students and alumni, eight projects were chosen to receive funding.

The annual competition is open to fifth-year seniors and graduate students in history of architecture and urbanism, architecture, and landscape architecture, as well as alumni of these programs who graduated within the last five years. Proposals may be submitted by individuals or groups and are accepted each spring.

The following projects will receive travel funding:

  • Eric Bernstein (B.Arch. '11), Jeremy Burke (B.Arch. '11), Kirk Finkel (B.Arch. '11), and Michael Lee (B.Arch. '11): The Spherical Book: The Resonant Implications of an Undefined Object upon Berlin and Rome's Urban Semiotics
  • Jacob Brown (M.L.A. '09): From City to Mountain: The Social Landscape of Hiking in South Korea
  • Justine Cheng (B.Arch. '08): New Khmer Architecture: Cambodia's Vanishing Cultural Identity
  • Hugh Hayden (B.Arch. '07): Searching for the Vernacular Architecture of the African Diaspora in the Mississippi Delta Region
  • Kyriaki Kasabalis (B.Arch. '10), and Darius Woo (B.Arch. '11): Vertical Realism: High Density Architecture in China and Westward
  • Tony-Saba Shiber (M.Arch. '11): The Politics of Edge
  • Thena Jean-hee Tak (B.Arch. '09): Hydroscapes: morphologies + synthesis
  • Simon Elder Russell Willet (B.Arch. '06): The Third Force: Between Global and Local in Vietnam

Sadie Boulton Eidlitz established the fellowship in 1938 as a memorial to her late husband. Both Robert and Sadie are Cornell alumni, graduating in 1885 and 1884, respectively. Sadie Eidlitz designed the fellowship to supplement professional education through travel-based study.

Close overlay