2009 AAP architecture awards

June 26, 2009

The Cornell University Department of Architecture awards for 2009 were presented during the College of Architecture, Art, and Planning commencement ceremonies on May 24.

The Merrill Presidential Scholar, a university-level award, was given to Aaron Kazam Sherbany (B.Arch. ’09). The honor is awarded to deserving graduating seniors, based on grade point average and other indications of academic excellence, leadership skills, community involvement, and potential for continued contributions to society.

Sherbany also received the William S. Downing Prize, founded in 1986 by William S. Downing. The prize is awarded to winners of a special design competition in recognition of outstanding achievement in architectural design. Up to two monetary prizes are given annually to fourth- and fifth-year students.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) awarded the Henry Adams Medal to Sherbany and Victor Tzen (M.Arch. ‘09) and the certificate of merit to Lester S. Yu (B.Arch. ‘09) and Nathaniel Jones (M.Arch. ‘09). The award is for general excellence in architecture throughout a student’s course of study.

The Charles Goodwin Sands Memorial Medal was bestowed on Huafan Gary He (B.Arch. ’09), Justin Lawrence Chu (B.Arch. ’09), Miriam Lina Roure Parera (B.Arch. ’09), and Thena Jean-hee Tak (B.Arch. ’09). The medal, founded in 1900 by the family of Charles Goodwin Sands, class of 1890, is awarded for work of exceptional merit done in architectural design.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal is awarded by the national professional architectural fraternity to graduating students who have shown ability for leadership, performed willing service for the college and department, and show promise of real, professional merit through his or her attitude and personality. Peter James Rodway (B.Arch. ‘09) and Brenda Petroff (M.Arch. ‘09) were this year’s recipients.

John Harkness Brown established the Clifton Beckwith Brown Memorial Medal in 1901 in memory of his brother, Clifton Beckwith Brown, who was killed in the field of battle at San Juan Hill in the Spanish-American War. This year, the medal was awarded to Nathan Friedman (B.Arch. ’09) for maintaining the highest cumulative average in architectural design over the entire course of his studies.

Two new awards were added to this year’s commencement ceremony. The award for Best M.Arch.1 Thesis was presented to Woo Young Shim (M.Arch. ’09) and Christine Siaw Hui Song (M.Arch. ’09).  An Award for Merit and Distinction in M.Arch.1 Design Studio was given to Katharine Shaw Meagher (M.Arch. ’09).

Close overlay